Mathematics and Statistics: Citing Sources
Resources for mathematics and statistics
Citation Guidance on the Web
The following are good web resources to help you learn citation formatting, view citation examples, and more. Make sure to ask your professor for their preferred bibliographic style before submitting a paper.
- American Mathematical Society (AMS) Style GuideThis is the full download of the AMS style guide, including chapters on citing in text and creating full reference citations.
- American Statistical Association (ASA) GuidanceThe ASA generally follows AP and Chicago styles for its magazines. This link provides common guidelines, as well certain ASA-specific rules that fall outside AP and Chicago styles.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
This link opens in a new window
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Funded by donors to the Dean's Fund for Excellence in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.
- OWL - Purdue's Online Writing LabDetailed guide to APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles. Navigate to "Research and Citation" on the left to access citation style help.
- PSU Library: Citing sourcesTutorial on citing sources. Use the arrows in the lower right to move through the pages of this tutorial.
Citation Management Tool: Zotero
Zotero is a citation management application that allows you to collect book and article citations from the library catalog and other databases. Zotero also connects with your word processor (MS Word, Google Docs, Libre Office) to insert in text citations and generate a reference list in your selected citation style.
See the library guide, Manage Citations with Zotero, on how to use this tool. The Library provides workshops and support for Zotero.
- ZoteroZotero is a free open source citation management tool
Online Citation Guides
Print Style Guides in the PSU Library
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; Z253 .C57 17th 2017Publication Date: 2017
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Course Reserves, Circulation; Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2020
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor ; LB2369 .T8 2018Publication Date: 2018
