Civil and Environmental Engineering: Books, Reports & Dissertations
Technical Reports
- Agricultural & Environmental ScienceProvides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in agriculture, aquaculture, environmental, ecology, food and human nutrition, and water resources journals, conference proceedings, EPA reports, and books.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
This link opens in a new window
Index to technical publications from the U.S. government. Includes full text for reports from 1995 and select full text for earlier publications. - Science.govFeatures selected, authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results.
- TRID (Transportation Research Board database)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international transportation research. TRID combines records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database. Covers the 1960's to the present.
Government Information
- Agricultural & Environmental ScienceProvides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in agriculture, aquaculture, environmental, ecology, food and human nutrition, and water resources journals, conference proceedings, EPA reports, and books.
- Science.govFeatures selected, authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results.
Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
- Compendex (Historical)Historical access to citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences from 1884-1969.
Find Books Using Subject Headings and Call Numbers
Subject Headings
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Civil and Environmental Engineering. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk in the library.
Civil Engineering
Earthquake Engineering
Environmental Engineering
Environmental Geotechnology
Excavation
Highway Engineering
Human Engineering
Life Support Systems
Military Engineering
Pollution
Public Works
Transportation Engineering
Water-supply Engineering
Call Numbers
Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.
PSU Library Catalog - Books
Results include both print books and ebooks, available from Portland State Library and other libraries.
Request Books from Other Libraries
If a book you need is not available from our library, you can request it using the "Request from Other Libraries" option in the catalog record.
Note that course textbooks are often not available to borrow from other libraries.