Physics: Reference Works
Guide for Library Research in Physics
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Discovering the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
- Access Science from McGraw-Hill : the online encyclopedia of science & technologyContains the full text of McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology as well as Science News from 2000 to the present.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsPublication Date: 2014Useful for many data tables: physical constants of chemical compounds, vapor pressures, lattice energies, properties of metals and semiconductors, optical constants, magnetic properties, etc.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- A to Z of thermodynamics byCall Number: QC310.3 .P4713 1998 / 2nd Floor
- Dictionary of geophysics, astrophysics, and astronomy byCall Number: QB14 .D53 2001 / 2nd Floor
- A Dictionary of Physics byCall Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780198821472Publication Date: 2019-06-01Available in print and online
QC5 .C56 2009 / 2nd Floor
- Encyclopedia of Applied Physics byCall Number: QC5 .E543 1991 v.1-23 / 2nd FloorDetailed entries (10-40 pages) discussing various subjects within applied physics. Includes topics related to electrical engineering.
- The Facts on File dictionary of weather and climate byCall Number: QC854 .F33 2006 / 2nd Floor
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics byCall Number: QC5 .M15 1996 v.1-4 / 2nd FloorUseful for explanations of various physics concepts, theories, principles and phenomena. Also contains brief biographies of more famous physicists.
- The Oxford guide to the history of physics and astronomy byCall Number: QC7 .O94 2005 / 2nd Floor
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia byCall Number: Q121 .V3 2002 v.1-2 / 2nd Floor
- Encyclopedia of World Climatology byCall Number: Reference Collection (2nd floor); QC854 .E526 2005ISBN: 9781402032646Publication Date: 2008-04-23
- Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate byCall Number: QC854 .A45 2007 v.1-2 / 2nd Floor
- Conversion Tables of Units for Science & Engineering, byCall Number: QC88 .H67 1986 / 2nd FloorA useful resource for converting, for example, Debyes to Coulomb-Meters or ounces per square inch to tons per square kilometer.