Chemistry: Reference Works
Guide for Library Research in Chemistry
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Finding physical or chemical data
- Getting ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Discovering the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
- Getting biographical information on key figures related to your topic
- Access Science from McGraw-Hill : the online encyclopedia of science & technologyContains the full text of McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology as well as Science News from 2000 to the present.
- ChemSpiderAggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into an open access repository. Offers text and structure searches for compounds.
- Crystallography Open DatabaseMaintains an open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals excluding biopolymers.
- Dictionary of Organic CompoundsContains concise chemical, structural, and citations on organic compounds. Data includes formulae, chemical structures, and physical properties.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias provide excellent background/overview information and are an excellent place to begin research. They contain articles written by experts for a somewhat more general audience. They provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and point to articles in which a concept will be discussed. They also provide bibliographies for further reading.
- A dictionary of chemistry byCall Number: Online Resource
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology byCall Number: Online Resource
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology byCall Number: TP9 .K54 2004 v.1-26 / 2nd Floor
- Comprehensive organometallic chemistry III byCall Number: QD411 .C652 2007 v.1-13 / 2nd Floor
- The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals byCall Number: RS51 .M4 2006 / Latest edition in Ready Reference /2nd Floor
- Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry byCall Number: QD148 .E53 2005 v.1-10 / 2nd Floor
- The Encyclopedia of Mass Spectrometry, Ten-Volume Set byCall Number: eBook vol. 9 linked in title; vol. 1-6 Print: QD96.M3 E53 2003 v.1-6 / 2nd Floor
- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry byCall Number: QD95 .E55 2000 v.1-3 / 2nd Floor
- Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia byCall Number: Q121 .V3 2002 v.1-2 / 2nd Floor
- Nuclear magnetic resonance spectraCall Number: QC762 .S3 / 2nd FloorPSU has: v.1-106 1966-93
- Evaluated infrared reference spectra byCall Number: QC457 .C686 / 2nd FloorPSU has: v.1- c1959-
- Handbook of Organic Compounds: NIR, IR, Raman, and UV-Vis spectra featuring polymers and surfactants byCall Number: QD257.7 .W67 2001 v.1-3 / 2nd Floor