Biology: Reference Works
Guide to Resources for Research in Biology
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are a good first step in your research and are useful for:
- a topic overview
- ideas for a paper topic
- learning the vocabulary used by topic experts
- keywords for searching or narrowing a topic
- important works on a your topic
- key authors on a topic
Ask a Librarian
- Contact a librarian 24/7 using our chat services.
- Email questions will receive a response in one business day.
- You can get help in person at the research help desk, 1st floor of the Library these days and times.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by Call Number: Q 121 .M3 2007 v.1 -20 -- 5th floorISBN: 9780071441438
Atlas of Anatomy by Call Number: QM 25 .G55 2012 -- On Reserve at Circulation Desk 1st floorISBN: 9781604067453
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Call Number: QL 7 .G7813 2004 v.1-17 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0787653624
The Names of Plants by Call Number: QK 96 .G54 2008 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 9780521866453
Core Anatomy - Illustrated by Call Number: QM 25 .P27 2007 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 9780340809181
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by Call Number: QR 9 .E53 1992 v.1-4 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0122268911
A Dictionary of Zoology by Call Number: QL 9 .C66 2009 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 9780199233410
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780521195317
Encyclopedia of Immunology by Call Number: QR 180.4 .E53 1998 v.1-4 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0122267656
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by Call Number: QP 11 .E53 1997 v.1-9 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0122269705
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780198529170
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics by Call Number: QH 540.4 .L56 1998 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0521591392
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: QH 332 .E52 2004 v.1-5 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0028657748- The New York Botanical Garden illustrated encyclopedia of horticulture byCall Number: SB 317.58 .E94 v.1-10 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floor
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by Call Number: QH 540.4 .E52 1995 v.1-3 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0122267303
Handbooks/Manuals
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Compendium by Call Number: QP 514.2 .P73 1989 Suppl. -- 5th floorISBN: 9781420043471
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology by Call Number: QH 506 .C87 1988 v. 1-2 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 047150338X
Fishes of the World by Call Number: QL618 .N4 1994 -- Reference Collection, 2nd floorISBN: 0471547131- Gray's Manual of Botany byCall Number: QK 117 .G75 1987 -- Reference Collection, 2nd Floor
- Practical Handbook of Microbiology byCall Number: QR 72.5 .P73 1989 -- Reference Collection, 2nd FloorISBN: 0849337046
- Silvics of North America byCall Number: S 21 .A44 no. 654 v.1-2 -- Reference Collection, 2nd Floor
