FILM 370U: Comic Book Films: Find Articles
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your film, television & radio research.
- Film and Television Literature IndexProvides indexing of publications related to film and television studies.
- FIAF: International Index to Film PeriodicalsProvides indexing to periodical literature about film and cinema.
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
- Gale OneFile Fine ArtsProvides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music.
- Arts and Humanities FulltextProvides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU
If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.