ARCH 230 Architecture & Cultural History I: Find Articles
PSU Library Catalog
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your architecture research.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Arts and Humanities FulltextProvides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
If you have an article citation...
You can use an article citation to get the full text.
Ex.: Baron, R. M., & Kenny, D. A. (1986). The moderator–mediator variable distinction in social psychological research: Conceptual, strategic, and statistical considerations. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 51(6), 1173-1182
Option 1:
Search the PSU Library using the article title as your search:
Option 2:
Enter the article title in Google Scholar, then click on Find it @ PSU:
Then...
Both methods provide links to the full text article, using the link under online access:
Not available?
Try searching for the journal and then searching or browsing for the article. If the Library does not have access to the volume of the journal needed, submit an article request via Interlibrary Loan.
Related Resources
While not specifically architecture resources, depending on your topic, these could be excellent sources.
- Design and Applied Arts IndexProvides indexing for design and applied arts literature, reviews, and news from 1973 to the present.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century.
- Europeana CollectionsProvides open access to artefacts, artworks, books, videos, and sound files from across Europe.
Find it @ PSU
Our article databases are enabled with a Find It @ PSU green button which connects you from the database you are searching to the holdings of specific articles in our Library.
If the article citation in your search results does not include a link to the full text PDF file, use the green Find It @ PSU button to check online or print availability via the Library catalog.
If the PSU Library does not hold the article online, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
Finding More Articles
Once you have found a specific articles or sources on your topic, you can try some of the strategies below to find other relevant sources:
- Search for publications by the same author
- The library catalog and most library databases link the author's name to other publications by that author. Note: not all databases will display all sources by that author, so searching the author's name in a few different places may lead to other publications by the author.
- Identify relevant search terms from your article
- The library catalog and most library databases will link to search terms that you may not have thought of. These links can lead to other relevant sources of information, and can also be used as keywords to begin new searches.
- Citation mining
- Once you have an article that matches your topic, you can track down other relevant sources by looking through the article's listed citations through the notes and the bibliography (may be listed as works cited or references). Some databases provide direct links to the articles cited, for others you will have to conduct you own search by using the title, author, or publication.
- Another way to mine citations is to see what newer sources have cited the article you found in their works. Google Scholar and some database have direct links that list articles that cite your article. Note: not all articles will be cited by other articles!