DEI Resources for Business: Articles / Publications / Reports
Article Databases
*** Search techniques and examples are extensively discussed in the School of Business Inclusive Curriculum & Pedagogy Resources document. ***
Business, Education, and Interdisciplinary Databases:
- Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new window
Find articles related to business and business education. - ERIC (EBSCO interface)Includes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
- Education SourceIncludes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
- Sage Education JournalseJournal package on education research.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Other Disciplinary Databases:
- PsycINFOMaintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- SocINDEXProvides citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, and book chapters in the field of sociology and closely related areas of study. Also includes author profiles for the most prolific, cited, and frequently searched for authors in the database.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIndexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- Black Studies CenterProvides access to scholarly articles, essays, historic newspapers, and reference works including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
- Independent VoicesThis is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Fuente AcademicaCovers Spanish language scholarly, academic journals. Offers full text, multidisciplinary content.
- Black Life in AmericaProvides historical newspaper and other primary source coverage of Black Life in America as recorded by the news media.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North AmericaPresents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016 This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
Diversifying Research
- Sage Research Methods: Diversifying & Decolonizing ResearchProvides ways to perform research that are critical and inclusive. Contains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
Select Articles & Surveys/Reports
Diversity in Business Education:
- Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging (HBR Inspiring Minds)Tips and best practices for building diverse courses and leading inclusive classrooms.
- Gender Diversifying the Business Curriculum (AACSB BizEd Magazine)The why and how of teaching more gender-diverse cases.
- The Inclusive Curriculum (AACSB BizEd Magazine)Offers suggestions for different disciplines (accounting & finance, management, etc.).
- Integrating social justice and diversity discourse into existing classes within the business schoolFernhaber, S. A., & Hines, L. (2021). Integrating social justice and diversity discourse into existing classes within the business school. Journal of Education for Business, 96(4), 260–268.
Diversity at Work:
- Diversity in the Workplace: A Review, Synthesis, and Future Research AgendaRoberson, Q. M. (2019). Diversity in the workplace: A review, synthesis, and future research agenda. Annual Review of Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, 6(1), 69–88. https://doi.org/10.1146/annurev-orgpsych-012218-015243
Diversity & Entrepreneurship:
Diversity & Real Estate: ** suggested by Prof. Kirsten Larson
Direct Links to Select Publications
Measuring Diversity
Articles and reports may discuss measuring DEI. Company Rankings may disclose their methodologies. Below are a few select resources: