Database Tutorial: RIA Checkpoint: Access & Personal Account
What's in the Guide
This guide provides information on accessing the database, creating a personal account, and doing basic searches by keyword, citation, or index.
To learn how to use the database, we highly recommend watching the free video tutorials produced by the company.
Have more questions?
Click Home on the main menu bar, then go to the SUPPORT & PRODUCT TRAINING section.
Or, click Learning on the main menu bar:
Or, click Help on the top navigation menu (upper right hand corner):
Login through the Library Website
Create your personal account
** You don't need a Student ID to use RIA. A Student ID just provides extra personlaized features such as notes, folders, and highlights. **
To create a Student ID, go to the account registration page (opens in a new window/tab). If you are off-campus, you may be asked to log in with your PSU (aka, ODIN) ID first. The first time you logged in, you may get a red error message that says "Unable to find an account connected with your IP..." Click the account registration link (above) again and it should go away and lead you to the registration page.
The registration page functions best with Firefox or Chrome. If you are using Internet Explorer 8, you will need to verify that you are in "compatibility view" in order to accept the license agreement. To switch, click on the Tools menu of IE, and choose Compatibility View.
Fill out the form. You MUST use your PSU email (@pdx.edu). Student IDs created with any other emails can be deleted anytime without warning.
You will receive an e-mail with a link to Checkpoint, your computer generated username, and a temporary password (the username can’t be changed so archive the email). The email is typically sent immediately or within an hour of the registration being submitted. If you haven't received the email, check your junk or spam folders.
Follow the link and log in with the username and temporary password. You will be prompted to change your password.
Once this process is finished, you can now access Checkpoint from any device (e.g., computer, tablet, smartphone) that has internet access (it does not need to be connected to the university) at https://checkpoint.riag.com
Student IDs are temporary and will automatically expire on July 31 and Dec 31. If your ID has expired, register again using the steps above.
If you access the database through the library link, you will be automatically directed to the general version. To switch to your Student ID, click on Sign Out on the upper right corner of the page, then click on Change Login, then log in with your Student ID.
If you have any problems, please call Customer Support at 1-800-431-9025, prompt 4 anytime Monday-Friday 9:00am-7:00pm Eastern Time.
Accessing RIA Checkpoint
There are two ways to access RIA Checkpoint and each has its own advantages and disadvantages (search functions and contents are identical):
Through the Library Website:
- Strength: you can use RIA the same way you use most other library databases.
- Weakness: you won't be able to use certain personalized features such as folders, highlights, and notes.
Through a Personal Account:
- Strength: you will have access to features like folders, highlights, and notes.
- Weakness: you have to create a personal account and it is only good for one semester (you have to re-register when the current account expires).