Indigenous Nations Studies: Primary Sources
Newspapers
Newspaper Databases
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- Nexis Uni
This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. - Newspaper SourceProvides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
Primary Sources Databases
- American State PapersPresents the digitized edition of legislative and executive documents of the U.S.Congress from the late 18th and early 19th centuries.
- Chronicling AmericaArchives US newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Maintains a directory of US newspapers from 1690 to the present.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)Archives digitized early American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published from 1639 to 1800.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Archives digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published from 1801 to 1819.
- New York Times Historical FileArchives the New York Times from 1851 with full page images and articles.
- Congressional Serial SetArchives reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.
Primary Sources on the Web
- Native American Documents ProjectCurrently includes the narrative reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs for 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, and 1876, as well as a map of western reservations published with the 1875 report.
- The Avalon ProjectProvided by Yale Law School, this collection is a searchable collection of primary source documents in law, history and democracy.
- Chief George Manual Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation ArchiveIncludes digitized documents, reports, and publications from American Indian nations and indigenous nations from around the world.
Primary Sources on Microfilm
The PSU Library's collection of microfilm includes:
-
correspondence between reservation agents and the various incarnations of the U.S. governmental agency that oversaw Indian Affairs
- records of those agencies
- censuses of Indians
- FBI files
- government hearings
An example is the historical Cherokee Phoenix, a newspaper from the 1800s that was "printed under the patronage, and for the benefit of the Cherokee Nation and devoted to the cause of Indians."
These microfilm collections are included in the library catalog, and you can also find them through this inventory.