SPAN 303: Third-Year Spanish: Getting Started
Getting Started
Overview and Background Resources
What kinds of resources give you an overview on genre or literary theory? Encylcopedias, bibliographies and dictionaries are a great way to start--they give context, history and genre overviews that help you get started. Here's a few that are available online and are searchable:
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyFull text biographies and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres; organized by individual volumes dedicated to specific literary types or time periods.
- Literature Online - LIONIncludes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
- Literature Criticism OnlineConsists of summaries of works, Western literary criticism, and literary movements as well as biographical sketches of authors from the classical period to the present.
- Literature Resource CenterProvides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century by Call Number: PN774 .L423ISBN: 0804430918Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Twentieth Century Literary Movements Dictionary by Call Number: PN597 .T94 2000ISBN: 1558884262Publication Date: 1999-09-01- Cyclopedia of World Authors by Call Number: PN451 .M36 1997ISBN: 0893564346Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Supernatural Literature of the World by Call Number: PN56.S8 S86 2005ISBN: 0313327742Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by Call Number: PN41 .E48 1998ISBN: 1576070034Publication Date: 1998-09-02
Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics by Call Number: PN51 .E63 2005ISBN: 0313329281Publication Date: 2005-09-01
