SPAN 303: Third-Year Spanish: Find Articles

Before Searching for Spanish Language Articles...

Locating library materials in other languages can be complicated. While many online resources seem to allow searching in different languages, there are some drawbacks when trying to find non-English materials.

Before searching for articles in Spanish, please review the page "Find Articles" in the Vernacular or Non-English Resources library guide.

Core Online Resources

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
JSTOR
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Fuente Academica
Covers Spanish language scholarly, academic journals. Offers full text, multidisciplinary content.
Literature Compass
Publishes an online-only, peer-reviewed journal that features survey articles of the most important research and current thinking across the literature discipline.

Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU

If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.

Journal Title Search

If you have an article citation...

You can use an article citation to get the full text.

Ex.: Baron, R. M., & Kenny, D. A. (1986). The moderator–mediator variable distinction in social psychological research: Conceptual, strategic, and statistical considerations. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 51(6), 1173-1182

Option 1:

Search the PSU Library using the article title as your search:

Option 2:

Enter the article title in Google Scholar, then click on Find it @ PSU:

Then...

Both methods provide links to the full text article, using the link under online access:

Not available?

Try searching for the journal and then searching or browsing for the article. If the Library does not have access to the volume of the journal needed, submit an article request via Interlibrary Loan.

Peer-Reviewed, Popular…or in Between?

Questions to Ask when Evaluating Articles

	Scholarly, Peer-reviewed, Professional Journals	Popular Magazines
Examples	Harvard Business Review; American Journal of Sociology; Modern Language Notes	Newsweek; Sports Illustrated; People; National Geographic; Wired
What is “the look”?	Somber, serious with graphs and tables. Few, if any, pictures.	Attractive, slick with lots of pictures and advertisements.
Who is the audience?	Other professionals in the field or discipline. Language is scholarly and subject specific.	General audience. Language relative to the topic. Articles can be short and lacking depth.
What is the purpose?	To report original research or experimentation or persuade based on research.	To entertain, to sell, or to promote a viewpoint.
Who wrote the article?	A scholar or researcher often with an institutional or academic affiliation.	Freelance writers, magazine staff or a well-known person not necessarily an expert in the field.
How carefully is it documented?	Always has references, footnotes and/or a bibliography. Follows a style like APA or MLA.	Rarely cites sources or makes broad references to sources.