Skip to main content

Mathematics and Statistics: Find Books

Resources for mathematics and statistics

Books from the Catalog

Requesting Books from Summit

When you find an item in the catalog, if you see Summit Libraries under Libraries that own this item:, that means that the book is not in our collection but is held at one of our partner libraries. You can request the book by clicking on the book's title and then selecting the Request Summit Item link on the next page. It takes approximately five days to receive an item through Summit.

Requesting Books through ILL

If a book you need for your research is not available in our collection or Summit, we can get it for you! Just request it through interlibrary loan. Please note: it can take up to 12 days to receive a book through interlibrary loan.

PSU Library Catalog - Books

Results include both print and ebooks, available from Portland State Library and the Summit Libraries.

Call Numbers

Browsing the library shelves by call number ranges is another strategy for locating information on a topic; call numbers can help you get to the "right neighborhood" in the library stacks.

QA 152.2 Algebra (elementary)
QA 154.2 Algebra (advanced)
QA 303 Calculus & Pre-Calculus
QA 445 Geometry
QA 184 Linear & Multilinear Algebra
QA 273 & QA 276.12 Statistics

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide excellent background/overview information. An excellent place to begin research. Contain articles written by experts. Provide indexes indicating scope of coverage of a topic and pinpointing articles in which a concept will be discussed. Provide bibliographies for further reading.

QA5 .M3713 1988 (vols. 1-10) Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Reference Books

An incomplete list of helpful Reference Books that can be found on the second floor of the library

QA 3 .U5 no. 55 1972 Handbook of Mathematical Functions
QA36 .H36 Handbook of Applicable Mathematics
QA 40 .T4813 2004 Oxford Users Guide to Mathematics
QA55 .G6613 1994 Table of Integrals, Series, and Products