Skip to main content

Business : Articles/Reports/Data

Business Databases at the PSU Library

This is not an exhaustive list. Please review the full list for a complete list of business databases.

Search Google Scholar

Business Databases at the Multnomah County Library

Multnomah County Library (MCL) provides some excellent databases that are not available at the PSU Library. You (even if you don't live in the county) can present your PSU ID to get a free MCL card that grants you remote access to their online content (databases, ebooks, audiobooks, etc.). However, you will be asked for a local address (e.g., department building address if you don't live here -- inform your department office manager) for them to send you a welcome postcard (no personal info except for your name). 

With the MCL card, you can access most of their databases remotely (from home or elsewhere). Below is a select list of relevant business databases. For a comprehensive list of available MCL online resources, go to Research Tools and Resources. 

Tutorials: searching for articles

The Library DIY offers several short tutorials on searching for articles, from looking up a specific article to finding articles on a specific topic.

Scholarly, Professional/Trade, or Popular/Consumer?

There are three main types of journals/magazines and each has its unique focus, coverage, look, and content. Some publications are better for certain types of topics. For example, scholarly journals are great for research on academic topics, but not good for current information such as market shares.

Scholarly journals - articles are written by scholars/researchers/professors in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to "scholarly", "peer-reviewed", "academic", or "refereed" journals to weed out any non-scholarly content. Examples: Academy of Management Review, Journal of Marketing.

Professional/Trade journals - articles are written by experts in the field or by staff writers. These publications are intended for practitioners in a specific field. Information is often very current. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists. Examples: HR Magazine, Harvard Business Review.

Popular/consumer magazines - articles are written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples: Fortune, Forbes.