COMM 220 - Public Speaking: Pro and Con
Both Sides
- Gale in Context: Opposing ViewpointsMaintains controversial contemporary topic summaries and overviews of current issues that include aspects of the issues along with pro and con arguments and opinions.
TIP: Use the Browse issues option to find the topic summaries which bring together a brief description of each side of the issue and provide links to articles and other content taking one of the positions.
Example: The Opposing Viewpoint issue summary of Genetically Modified Foods.
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject. Each full report includes an introduction, overview, background, Current Situation, Outlook, Pro/Con, Chronology, Short Features, Maps/Graphs, Bibliography, The Next Step, Contacts, and Footnotes.
TIP: CQ Researcher has been at this a long time so many of the excellent reports were done when an issue was before the Congress sometime in the past; use the BROWSE REPORTS by date filter to see the most recent reports.
Pro/Con Resources
- American Policy DirectoryAnalysis and advocacy on a wide range of topics derived from think-tanks and advocacy organization across the United States.
- Congressional DigestA pro/con monthly publication.
- The Debatabase BookPro/Con arguments on different topics.
- Oregon Policy Directory"Find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on Oregon public policy."
- Supreme Court DebatesEach issue features a different case; includes background information plus pro and con arguments.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) produces analytical reports on topics of interest to Congress, but does not maintain a public website with these reports. Below are some free web sites that collect CRS reports:
- Archive-It Congressional Research Service Reports - This site searches across many of the sites that provide free access to CRS reports but there is often a lag in current updates.
- University of North Texas (UNT) Digital Library CRS Reports - A searchable colllection with a delay in posting the most current reports.
- Open CRS - A good searchable collection but often a significant delay in posting new reports.
- Full Text Reports (CRS Archive) - Collection of reports from many sources including the CRS.
(Based on the Dudley Knox Library of the Naval Postgraduate School's guide on Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports)