GSCM 310 Introduction to Supply Chain Management of Food and Beverage Systems: Cite Sources
Citing Business Sources in APA Style
Unless otherwise specified, the preferred citation style used in business is APA (7th edition). The following guide provides guidelines and examples for citing PSU Library business databases.
- Examples of Citing Business Sources (Google Doc)This document provides examples of citing specific business databases/sources in the References section of your paper. If your professor has specific requirements, follow their instructions instead.
Online Citation Guides
Style Guides:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Funded by donors to the Dean's Fund for Excellence in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.
This link opens in a new window
- Basic Legal CitationGuide from Cornell University School of Law. Updated in 2011, this guide includes a "how to cite" page including directions on citing constitutions, statutes, rules, and more
Tips on Paraphrasing & Avoiding Plagiarism:
Citation Help @ PSU
- Cite Your SourcesReading citations, citation styles, managing citations, and avoiding plagiarism.
- Guide on Citation Management SystemsTutorials on Zotero, etc.
- Citing Government DocumentsA resource for citing government documents (includes links).
- Recorded Virtual Workshop on Citation Management Tools(April 2020). Live workshops are offered (schedule updated each term).
- PSU Writing CenterWriting and citation help.
Citing ChatGPT and other AI Tools
- Citing ChatGPT and other AI ToolsFrom the library Cite Your Sources guide.
Auto Citation: Pro & Con
Many databases provide automatically formatted citations based on popular styles -- see screenshots below. While these are convenient and useful, they are not always accurate. You do need to understand the basic format of your citation style to notice and correct any possible errors.
By the same token, while Citation Management Tools such as Zotero are wonderful, they may not handle certain specialized business sources very well. Again, review and edit your citations whenever necessary.
Auto Citation Tool in the PSU Library Catalog
Click on the article title, then click CITATION, choose the style you want (APA, MLA, etc.), then click COPY CITATION underneath the generated citation:
Auto Citation Tool in Google Scholar
Click on the cite tool under the record and you will see pop-up with automatically generated references in common styles (APA, MLA, etc.):
Auto Citation Tool in Business Source Premier
Click the Cite icon and select the citation style, then click Copy to Clipboard:
