Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Sets & Statistics
Contains state-level historical data for the areas of agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy and environment, geography, government finances, health, households and housing, population, social welfare as well as transportation. Is part of Data Planet Foundations and will be fully incorporated into that platform in June 2021.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
Users should create accounts using their pdx.edu email to ensure complete access to content.
National Equity Atlas
The Atlas presents data on changing demographics, racial inclusion, and the economic benefits of equity by region, state, and nationwide.
US Agency Data Sets
Offers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data.
National Center for Health Statistics
Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
SAMHSA's Office of Applied Statistics
Collects the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and other drug abuse including data on drug related emergency department episodes, medical examiner cases, and about the nation's substance abuse treatment system.
Provides data sets generated by the HUD Office of Policy Development and Research. Effors include the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, and microdata from research initiatives such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets
Maintains data sets about juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.
International Data & Statistics
China Data Online
Provides extensive economic and social data on China at the national, provincial, county and city levels. Internet Explorer Required
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
Provides real and financial sector indicators in daily, monthly, quarterly and annual frequencies for developing and high-income countries; regional and global aggregates, such as industrial production, consumer prices, merchandise trade, exchange rates and equity market data.
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries.
Data from the International Monetary Fund. Includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and more. As of Jan 1, 2015, IMF data are freely available.
Cite Your Data Set
It is increasingly important to cite your data sources, just like you would normally cite a journal article that you used to support your research.
How and Why Should I Cite Data?
Here is an example of a data set citation:
Kerker, Bonnie, and Donna Eisenhower. New York City Community Health Survey, 2002. ICPSR27064-v1. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2010-05-24. doi:10.3886/ICPSR27064.v1
Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Find publications based on ICPSR data via the Bibliography of Data-Related Literature, a searchable database that contains over 41,000 citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.