WS 101: Introduction to Womens Studies: Scholarly Articles
Search the PSU Library Catalog for Scholarly Articles
Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog. Type your keywords into the search box on the Library homepage and run the search. Limit your search results by selecting Peer Reviewed Journals under Availability. Limit your search to the last five to ten years to review the most current research on your topic. Pertinent articles may include links to Similar Articles!
Be sure to Sign In in order to add relevant articles to My Favorites for easy access.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Accessing articles in the PSU Library Catalog
The PSU Library Catalog is a great place to search for articles in selected databases. Once you have found an article that you are interested in, check for the link, Online Access, as shown in the screenshot of the journal article citation. Select this link and then sign into the PSU Library catalog to access the article. Note that the article can be available in more than one database. If there is no Online Access link, there will be an Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery to request the article.
Related Disciplinary and Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
- Oxford Art OnlineIncludes full text of the Grove 34-volume encyclopedia, The Dictionary of Art, which contains scholarly articles on the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.
What is a Library Database and Why Use It?
A Yavapai Community College student explains the benefits of using library databases for research over searching the web.
Using Google Scholar Video
Core Databases
Use databases to identify articles that have been published on your topic. The databases selected below are specifically dedicated to covering the journal literature for women, gender and sexuality studies topics, or they are multidisciplinary in their focus but include WGSS coverage. You may find that you want to look for WGSS topics from the perspective of particular discipline. You can choose a disciplinary database from the Library's subject listing of databases.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- LGBT Life with Full TextIndexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionContains citations and full text scholarly articles related to philosophy and religion.
Selecting Articles for Your Research
This 2-minute video created by a Yavapai College student shows you what to look for in an article citation.