Justice: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Dictionaries
The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice by Call Number: HV6017 .D38 2002 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780761921752Publication Date: 2002-06-25
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Call Number: KF156 .B53 2009 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780314199492Publication Date: 2009-06-25
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States (ebook) by Publication Date: 2008-10-24
Encyclopedia of Law and Society (ebook) by Publication Date: 2007-07-10
The U.S. Justice System: An encylcopedia (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781598843057Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Handbooks
The Oxford handbook of juvenile crime and juvenile justice (ebook) by Call Number: onlineISBN: 0199940770Publication Date: 2012
Juvenile Justice Sourcebook by Call Number: HV9104 .J868 2014 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9780199324613Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Handbook of restorative justice : a global perspective by Call Number: HV8688 .H36 2008 -- 3rd FloorISBN: 9780415447249Publication Date: 2008-01-30
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America by Call Number: HV9950 .B86 2004 -- 3rd FloorISBN: 9781851094691Publication Date: 2004-09-08
Law & Legislation
- Criminal code of Oregon by Call Number: HV6793 .O7 A2 -- 2nd Floor Reference