Land Use: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesMaintains a global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Standards & Guidelines
Land Access and Resettlement: A Guide to Best Practice (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781783531752Publication Date: 2015-01-28
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
Land Use Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.6 -- 2nd Floor Reference CollectionPublication Date: 2007-03-26
Environmental Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.8 -- 2nd Floor Reference CollectionPublication Date: 2007-01-01
How to put the people in planning : a handbook for citizen involvement in land use planning in Oregon. by Call Number: HD211 .O7 H6 1992 -- BasementPublication Date: 1992
U. S. Landscape Ordinances by Call Number: KF5692 .Z95 A23 1998 -- 3rd FloorISBN: 9780471292760Publication Date: 1998-09-07
