Physical Activity & Nutrition: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Physical Activity & Nutrition Reference Works
The Encyclopaedia of Sports Medicine: an IOC Medical Commission Publication, Sports Nutrition (ebook) by ISBN: 9781118692332Publication Date: 2013-09-13
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by Call Number: RA427 .E53 2012 -- 5th FloorISBN: 9781412950237Publication Date: 2012-02-14
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets by Call Number: RA784 .G345 2008 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 9781414429915Publication Date: 2007-11-26
Dietary Reference Intakes by Call Number: QP141 .D75 2006 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 0309100917Publication Date: 2006-08-29
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by Call Number: QP141 .E526 2005 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 0121501108Publication Date: 2005-07-27
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: GT2850 .E53 2003 -- 2nd Floor ReferenceISBN: 0684805685Publication Date: 2002-12-17
A Dictionary of Sports Studies (ebook) by Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine (ebook) by Publication Date: 2006
