Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources in Library Databases
The databases and websites listed on this page are good sources for primary sources from ancient times. Make sure also to consult the next tab on primary sources in books.
The ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Primary Sources on the Web
These digital libraries and websites contain excellent collections of digitized and scribed materials.
At right: a page from a 13th century Abbreviatio (abridgement) of Domesday Book, from the UK National Archives via Flickr.
Offers public domain photographs and other photographs from national and international libraries, museums, archives, and cultural institutions.
Le manuscrit medieval - The Medieval Manuscript
This blog is dedicated to the great manuscript scholar Léopold Delisle (1826-1910), and to François Duine, clericus dolensis (1870-1924), and (almost exclusively!) to medieval manuscripts, up to and including their relationships with early printing.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
The Ancient History Sourcebook includes links to visual and aural material, since art and archeology are far more important for the periods in question than for later history. The emphasis remains on access to primary source texts for educational purposes.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. Link to Italy and Greece for documentation on Prehistory and Roman Empire (Italy) and Ancient Greece.
Epigraphic Databases (inscriptions)