Images: Art & History Collections
History Collections
- Ad*AccessPresents images and information for advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 to 1955. Focuses on these subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty & hygiene, and World War II.
- American Memory ProjectHistorical Collections for the Library of Congress Digital Library. American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from over 100 collections.
- American Museum of Natural History Digital Special CollectionsAccess to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
- Europeana CollectionsProvides open access to artefacts, artworks, books, videos, and sound files from across Europe.
- LUNA Commons CollectionsA variety of collections of images from various sources covering history, social science, and the arts.
- NYPL Digital GalleryOver 700,000 images from the NY Public Library's image collection.
- Smithsonian Institution : Collections Search CenterSearch over six million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and libraries.
History
- Images for HistorySuggested resources from the PSU Library's History & Historiography Subject Guide.
Art and Design
- Art & Design ImagesSuggested sources from the PSU Library's Art & Design Subject Guide.
Licensed Library Image Databases
- ArtStorThe ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. This content is now hosted fully on the JSTOR platform but still provides much of the same functionality available on the previous stand-alone platform.
- American WestContains manuscripts, books, maps, photos, and other materials focusing on the American West.
Portland- and Oregon-Based Collections
- City of Portland, Archives & Records Management, Portland Timeline ImagesSmall collection of Portland-based images from 1851 - 1986.
- Oregon Historical Society: Digital CollectionsIncludes over 11,000 images on a wide range of topics, locations, and time periods.
- Oregon State University Special Collections & Archives Flickr CommonsOver 3000 historical photos of life in Oregon
- Portland State University Archives Digital GalleryThe Digital Gallery features images from the University Archives photograph collection documenting Portland State's rich history. The image collections, highlighting campus buildings and events, student life, and portraits of faculty and staff, can be searched and browsed by dates and keywords.
- Portland State University Library Digital ExhibitsFrom Special Collections & University Archives at the Portland State University Library.