Urban & Regional Planning: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
- Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesMaintains a global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources.
Dictionaries, Glossaries, & Standards
Planning and Urban Design Standards by Call Number: TH2031 .P55 2006 (2nd Floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2006-02-03
A Planners Dictionary by Call Number: HT167 .A43 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2004-04-01
A Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms by Call Number: HT167 .A43 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
The Oxford Handbook of Urban Planning by Call Number: HT166 .O94 2012 (3rd Floor)Publication Date: 2012-04-23
The Oxford Handbook of Urban Economics and Planning by Call Number: HT321 .O94 2012 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2011-12-15
Social Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.1 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Planning Models by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.2 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2006-12-27
Regional Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.4 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2007-03-26
Public Facilities Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.3 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2007-01-28
Planning Methodology and History by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.5 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2007-03-26
Land Use Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.6 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2007-03-26
Environmental Planning by Call Number: HT166 .C5256 2006 v.8 (2nd floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Urban Sprawl: A Comprehensive Reference Guide by Call Number: HT384.U5 U75 2006 (3rd Floor)Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Companion to Urban Design by Call Number: HT165.5 .C647 2011 (3rd Floor)Publication Date: 2011-03-10
Urban Planning after Disasters by Call Number: HT165.5 .U737 2017 (2nd Floor Reference Collection)ISBN: 9781138776531Publication Date: 2016-11-25
