UNST Popular Culture - Bergland: Background Resources
Online Media Studies Encyclopedia
Concise Encyclopedia of Communication by Publication Date: 2015
The International Encyclopedia of Media Effects, 4 Volume Set by Publication Date: 2017
Very Short Introductions - Oxford University Press
- Very Short IntroductionsProvides concise introductions on a diverse range of topics in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Online Subject Encyclopedia Collections
Here are three major collections of online subject encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Oregon State Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. It is part of the Oregon Gale statewide databases.
- Oxford Reference OnlineFull text subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference and handbooks in all disciplinary areas. Searchable database of full text dictionaries, reference works, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press. Subject coverage includes Art & Architecture, Classics, Economics & Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Mythology & Folklore, Names & Places, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences. Check for included titles by broad subject area.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Media Literacy Handouts
- Key Questions to Ask When Analyzing Media MessagesThis document provides very specific prompts to help you analyze media messages from many angles: audience and authorship; messages and meanings; representations and reality.
- 6 key Concepts in Media AnalysisThis document provides definitions for media literacy and media analysis.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information