WS 377U Feminist Biblical Interpretation: Scholarly Articles

Search the PSU Library Catalog for Scholarly Articles

Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog. Type your keywords into the search box on the Library homepage and run the search. Limit your search results by selecting Peer Reviewed Journals under Availability. Limit your search to the last five to ten years to review the most current research on your topic. Pertinent articles may include links to Similar Articles!

Be sure to Sign In in order to add relevant articles to My Favorites for easy access.

Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video

This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.

Core Databases

Use databases to identify articles that have been published on your topic. The databases selected below are specifically dedicated to covering the journal literature for women, gender and sexuality studies topics, or they are multidisciplinary in their focus but include WGSS coverage. You may find that you want to look for WGSS topics from the perspective of particular discipline. You can choose a disciplinary database from the Library's subject listing of databases.

Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Contains citations and full text scholarly articles related to philosophy and religion.
Historical Abstracts
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes articles and essays on anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
ProjectMuse
Indexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
Humanities Abstracts
Provides indexing of scholarly works in the humanities.

Using Google Scholar Video

Related Disciplinary and Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Includes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
Oxford Art Online
Includes full text of the Grove 34-volume encyclopedia, The Dictionary of Art, which contains scholarly articles on the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.

Three Paths to Scholarly Articles

You can use any or all of the tools below to search for articles.

	Library Catalog: search box on the library homepage	Specific Subject Database	Google Scholar: search from the PSU Library website
Strengths	Covers articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, and newspapers; Searches over 400 databases at once, so article can be available in more than one database; Can see immediately whether one article is available in full text, or if not, request via Interlibrary Loan directly; For retrieval options anytime, anywhere, you need to sign in with your Odin account.	Has a more focused scope like economics or history; Better interface with more search options/limiters and discipline-specific subject keywords; You just need to sign in with your Odin account to access anytime, anywhere.	Journals from a wide range of subjects, including ones that are not indexed in the catalog; The Google search engine; Includes "Cited by" for articles; Access to open access articles with links.
Weaknesses	You need to know to lock the filters in order to change your keywords; Not all PSU full text journals are indexed here; May produce too many results; Must sign in first to see the full results and request options.	Missing journals in subject from other databases; May need to use Find it @ PSU to check for full text status; May have to order from Interlibrary loan through the Library website.	Lack of sophisticated search options/limiters May produce too many results; Must use Find it @ PSU to locate full text.
Best For	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); if you are exploring a topic (especially an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.	If you need to do subject-specific or advanced searches using various options/limiters.	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); If you are exploring a topic ( an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.