Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Primary Source Collections
Contains manuscripts, books, maps, photos, and other materials focusing on the American West.
America's Historical Newspapers
Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
From the University of Washington, with scanned photographs, treaties, and reports.
Century of Action: Oregon Women Vote
Century of Action celebrates 100 years of Oregon women's right to vote and advances the understanding of women's citizenship in Oregon's history.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Maps, documents, reports, newspapers, and more focusing on immigrant populations, including people identified as having African, Asian, European, or Latin American heritage, in the Columbia River Basin. This collection does not include Native American resources.
Digital collections from University of Oregon and Oregon State.
Oregon Historical Society Digital Collections
Access to Oregon Historical Society's digital collections, including historical photographs, papers, and the Gay and Lesbian Archives of the Pacific Northwest Oral Histories.
Oregon History Project
The Oregon History Project is an online resource for learning about Oregon's past. In these pages, the work of historians and writers will help you explore the history of Oregon through the perspectives of people who helped shape the state.
PDX Social History Guide
Location-based guide to the history of various communities in Portland. PDX Social History Guide brings their stories to the surface through interviews, mapping, art and photos. Each story features a summary, audio clip, and an image or map.
Portland Planning Bureau: Historic Resources and Preservation
Provides information about historic landmarks in Portland as well as historic Portland maps.
Local Collections and Archives
Using a special collections library or archive is different from using public and academic libraries. For example, not all of the items in the collection may be cataloged, and you will probably not be able to browse the collection. The organization may have limited hours. There may rules around what you can bring into the reading area: some will allow only pencils and not pens, and you should plan to leave your food and drinks at home.
To prepare for your visit, explore the organization's website to see what collections they hold. Check the organization's hours. And then contact the organization to make an appointment, as not all archives are open without appointment.
Archives West (formerly Northwest Digital Archives) provides information about archival collections at thirty-one archives in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.
City of Portland Archives & Records Center
Holdings include records generated by the City of Portland, including elected officials’ papers, department reports, planning maps, Ordinances and Resolutions, budget information, correspondence, and photos. Located on the 5h floor of the ASRC Building at PSU.
Oregon Historical Society Research Library
Holdings chronicle the history of Oregon from early European exploration to the present day. To use this library for free, Multnomah County residents should bring proof of address.
Oregon Black Pioneers/Oregon African American Museum
The mission of the Oregon Black Pioneers Corporation, also doing business as Oregon African American Museum Project (OBP/OAAMP), is to research, recognize and commemorate the culture and heritage of African Americans in the State of Oregon
Oregon Nikkei Legacy Center
Oregon Nikkei Legacy Center has a wealth of resources documenting Japanese American history and culture.
Architectural Heritage Center
A non-profit resource nexus for historic preservation owned and operated by the Bosco-Milligan Foundation. Tthe AHC hosts dozens of programs, tours, and exhibits each year which help people appreciate, restore, and maintain older and historic buildings, neighborhoods, and traditional commercial areas.
Portland State Library Special Collections & Archives
"Dikes are Safe at Present": The 1948 Columbia River Flood and the Destruction of Vanport
This exhibit contains over 100 (re)discovered Columbia River flood photos from around western Oregon and examines the city it destroyed and the university that grew out of it. The exhibit highlights several rarely-seen photographs, documents, and ephemera.
Say We are Here
This exhibit represents the depth and breadth of the Rutherford family's community service while also providing a rich overview of the institutions and events central to Black Oregonians over the past one hundred years.
Planning in Portland & the Region
Archival collections and oral histories related to urban planning and land use in Portland and the Northwest. These include the papers of key Portland and Northwest area planners, Portland State University scholars, and activists.
Portland State University History