Middle East Studies: Find Articles
Journal Title Search
Core Online Resources
- Index IslamicusIndex Islamicus is the international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Provides an overview of what has been published since 1906 and is updated quarterly.
- Middle Eastern and Central Asian StudiesIndexes scholarly literature on the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Contains records and covers from 1900 and earlier to the present.
Related Resources
- African Studies Abstracts OnlinePublishes quarterly bibliography listing edited works and articles from African studies journals and journals from Africa.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesProvides access to Asian-related humanities and social science research.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIndexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
Multidisciplinary Resources
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Gale in Context: Opposing ViewpointsMaintains controversial contemporary topic summaries and overviews of current issues that include aspects of the issues along with pro and con arguments and opinions.
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
Using Bibliographies
A bibliography, in this context, is a book or electronic resource that lists primarily books and journal articles on a specific topic. A bibliography can be either a selective or exhaustive list of sources, it may just be a list of citations or could include annotations. Works included may be selected because of their publication date, or their importance, or their origin. Bibliographies are particularly useful when you need to do exhaustive research on your topic or if you need to find literature published during a period not covered by the electronic resources.
Introduction to the history of the Muslim East: A bibliographical guide
Z3013 .S314 | 5th Floor
Middle East and Islam: A bibliographical introduction
Z3013 .M48 1979 | 5th Floor
Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa
http://www.ascleiden.nl/Publications/Bibliographies/IslamInAfrica/
The bibliography contains over 4,300 references from European language sources about Islam in contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, from around 1960 to 2005.
The Islamic revival since 1988 : a critical survey and bibliography
Z7835 .M6 H24 1997 | 5th Floor
Women in Islamic Societies: A selected review of the social scientific literature
http://www.loc.gov/rr/frd/pdf-files/Women_Islamic_Societies.pdf
A literature review prepared by the Federal Research Division at the Library of Congress in 2005 that includes recent empirical social science scholarship addressing women's lives in Muslim societies. Along with bibliographic citations of the major works and representative studies related to various aspects of Muslim women's lives, the study presents "analyses of empirical findings that emerge from these bodies of literature."
World Bibliographical Series
Volumes covers history, geography, economics, politics, religion, sociology, anthropology, and culture of an individual country.
Online Journals
Search the Library catalog for known titles or, for example:
Africa, North -- periodicals
Arab countries -- periodicals