Educational Leadership: Resources
Articles
Reading and Understanding Scholarly Articles:
Article Databases:
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)Includes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
- Education SourceIncludes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
- SAGE Premier Journals - EducationComprised of full text, scholarly journals in Education.
Books
Search for Books:
You can use the search box on the library homepage to search the library catalog.
Research Methods Books:
These titles may be useful while doing your own research, or if you are taking a course on research methods.
- Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
- Dissertations and Theses Open (PQDT Open)This repository holds the full text of open access dissertations and theses. The authors of these dissertations and theses have chosen open access publication of their works, thus providing free access from the Internet.
- PDXScholarPortland State University's Digital Repository, PDXScholar, preserves the University's research, unique resources, and other scholarly output with the goal of providing persistent, access to that work.
- PSU COE DissertationsYou can search for COE dissertations in the PSU library catalog using the terms "portland state" and ed.d.
Evidence Based Practice
Recommended Resource:
The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences, and aims to:
- produce user-friendly practice guides for educators that address instructional challenges with research-based recommendations for schools and classrooms
- Assess the rigor of research evidence on the effectiveness of interventions (programs, products, practices, and policies), giving educators the tools to make informed decisions;
- Develop and implement standards for reviewing and synthesizing education research
-Provide a public and easily accessible registry of education evaluation researchers to assist schools, school districts, and program developers with designing and carrying out rigorous evaluations.
While WWC publications are not the only source of evidence-based practice,
they have been developed via guidelines and criteria which are of current importance to the U.S. Department of Education
You can also locate articles and documents that address evidence-based practice by using keyword terms "evidence based" or "research based" in ERIC search statements and adding the Publication type limiter Reports-Research.
Related Resource:
- Campbell Library of Systematic ReviewsProvides access to systematic reviews, usually international in scope, in education, criminal justice, and social welfare.