Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is the Policy Impact?
To learn about the impact of a social policy, look for:
Scholarly Article Databases
Contains full text scholarly and peer-reviewed articles covering all areas of law. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Social Services Abstracts
Includes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Education related research, including educational policy
The Trouble with the Dream Act
If you are researching a newly enacted policy or a bill that has been introduced, but never passed (like the Dream Act), the impact of the policy has not been assessed yet. Typically, research on the impact of a policy will take at least two years after implementation to appear.
You might want to look for similar policies at the state or federal level and see if any research has been done on those.