Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Learning the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
PSU Library Catalog - Books
Results include both print and ebooks, available from Portland State Library and the Summit Libraries.
Most encyclopedias and dictionaries are considered reference works, providing short overviews on topics. The PSU Library has a variety of specialized encyclopedias, from music to gun control in print or online.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Contains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Encyclopaedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd edition), provides authoritative information and scholarly entries about the Middle East and the Islamic world.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
Representing a collaboration of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders, and disciplines to create a reference work that reflects the current research on gender studies and the Islamic world.
Indexes citations and abstracts of the mathematics and statistics literature.
Oxford Music Online
Includes full text of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition.
Oxford Art Online
Includes full text of the Grove 34-volume encyclopedia, The Dictionary of Art, which contains scholarly articles on the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.