Economics: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Databases
Recommended
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Oregon State Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. It is part of the Oregon Gale statewide databases.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Others
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject. - EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
- GreenFILEOffers research covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government, and general interest titles covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesMaintains a global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources.
- Making of the Modern WorldArchives books or monographs on economics and business published from 1450 through 1850. Includes materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Recommended
The New Palgrave : A Dictionary of Economics by ISBN: 97803337867650333786769Publication Date: 2008Format: print
Others
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics by ISBN: 185898145X9781858981451Publication Date: 1997Format: print
Encyclopedia of Law and Economics by ISBN: 18589898419781858989846Publication Date: 2000Format: print
Encyclopedia of Political Economy by ISBN: 041515426X9780415154260Publication Date: 1999Format: print
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by ISBN: 0787638889Publication Date: 2000-01-01Format: online
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History by ISBN: 9780199738816Publication Date: 2013-07-08Format: print
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by ISBN: 0195105079Publication Date: 2003-10-16Format: online
The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics by ISBN: 026216132XPublication Date: 1992-08-12Format: online
