Mechanical and Materials Engineering: Patent Resources
Resources for mechanical engineering and materials science
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Resources
- USPTO: United States Patent and Trademark Office
Provides access to the processes for applying for a patent or trademark along with the ability to search for patents and trademarks in use in the United States.
- Patent EssentialsUSPTO page answering basic questions about patents and providing links to assist with patent applications
- U.S. Patent Search StrategyUSPTO page summarizing the multi-step strategy for patent searches
- Quick Reference GuidesUSPTO's links to resources on using their search tool and where to get help if needed
PSU Library Databases for Patent Searches
- Nexis Uni
This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for newspapers as well as business, legal, medical publications, and government documents.
*** Patent searching can be found in the "Menu" drop down at the top of the page between the Nexus Uni logo and the search bar *** - SciFinderMaintains citations and abstracts of chemistry and chemical engineering literature, including chemical patent information. Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. Sign up with a PSU email address and receive a confirmation email before accessing SciFinder. Chrome recommended. Create your account
Other Patent Databases
- Google PatentsGoogle site dedicated to searching patents. The database indexes patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office, European Patent Office, and World Intellectual Property Organization.
- PatentScopeThe World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO) database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format
- Lens.orgFree database of international patents, with a variety of search tools
- EspacenetFree comprehensive patent searching database provided by the European Patent Office (EPO). Offers machine translations of patent documents.