Mechanical and Materials Engineering: Books, Reports & Dissertations
Requesting Books & Articles
While the Portland State Library has a large collection of books, articles, and journals, we may not have a specific item you are looking for. In that case, you may be able to get it for you from another library.
- If you find an item in the catalog and our copy is not available you can Request from other libraries
Books from the Catalog
- A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering byPublication Date: 2019eBook
- Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering byCall Number: 5th Floor: TJ9 .N28 1996Publication Date: 1996
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)Index to technical publications from the U.S. government. Includes full text for reports from 1995 and select full text for earlier publications.
- Science.govFeatures selected, authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results.
Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.
- Compendex (Historical)Historical access to citations and abstracts for engineering and the applied sciences from 1884-1969.
- PDXScholarPortland State University's Digital Repository, PDXScholar, preserves the University's research, unique resources, and other scholarly output with the goal of providing persistent, access to that work.
Find Books Using Subjects
Find books on your topic by using a keyword search to find relevant subject headings. For example, search the keyword, Sustainability, in the PSU Library catalog. Under the details for the book entitled, Sustainability, the subject headings lead to other relevant books on this topic. The Subject links in the left-hand column provide pertinent results too.
Mechanical and Materials Engineering Subject Headings
Subject headings allow you to search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic. Often subject heading searching can be more productive than searching by simple keywords. Listed here are some major subject headings of interest for research in Mechanical and Materials Engineering. Copies of the complete set of the Library of Congress Subject Headings are available at the reference desk in the library.