UNST Power and Imagination: Books & Articles
What is a Scholarly Article?
Academic or scholarly journal articles:
- Written by experts in a particular field
- Written for other experts in that field
- Use expert language, or jargon, specific to that field
- Report on the results of research such as a scientific experiment
- Typically longer
- Very narrow and specific focus
- Give little to no background information
When searching for scholarly articles, match your search terms with the language experts use and be specific with your terms.
Article Databases
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowIncludes profiles on select companies, industries, and countries, as well as articles from various sources.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
-
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles and other publications covering topics in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition This link opens in a new windowPresents article citations and full text articles from health and medicine journals.
-
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
-
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for urban affairs, community development, and urban history.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Theme Related eBooks
-
The Life of Imagination
Publication Date: 2019 -
Imagination and Invention
Publication Date: 2023 -
Data Ethics of Power : A Human Approach in the Big Data and AI Era
Publication Date: 2021 -
Control : A Book About People With An Excessive Need To Control Other People Or Things
Publication Date: 2010 -
Mind, Brain, and Free Will
Publication Date: 2012
Finding eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online or use the "ebooks" limit to filter your search results.
