EC 316U Introduction to Health Care Economics: Data Sources

Library Databases

This is a select list. See link for full list of library resources focusing on statistics.

Business Data Guide
The PSU Library also has a list of Business-related data sources that may be useful

EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Reports on country commerce, country finance, and doing business in various countries. Now called EIU Viewpoint
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition
Consists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
OECD iLibrary
Provides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
Passport (by Euromonitor)
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers.
PolicyMap
Provides mapping, data, and analytics tools on U.S. demographics, real estate, health, jobs, education, and more topics. Mapping allows for multiple layers and editable data ranges.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Maintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Sage Data
Contains national, state-level, and local level historical data for the areas of agriculture, crime and law enforcement, defense, economy, education, employment and labor, energy and environment, geography, government finances, health, households and housing, political science, population, social welfare as well as transportation. Replaces Sage Stats.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
Statista
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Provides access to datasets in business, economics, finance, and sustainability (such as Compustat North America, CRSP, Dow Jones, Eventus, MSCI, TRACE, and more). Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. After logging in with PSU ID, user will get a 3-day Access Pass. Log in again to get another one after the previous pass expires. User may also request an account
Create WRDS Account

Books of Data

Business Statistics of the United States by Cornelia J Strawser; Mary Meghan Ryan
ISBN: 10868488
The value of a dollar : prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-2014 by Scott Derks
ISBN: 9781592374038
The value of a dollar : colonial era to the Civil War, 1600-1865
ISBN: 9781592370948

Statistical Analysis Programs - Books

Data Sets on the Web (Free Resources)

AEA: Resources for Economists on the Internet
A collection of data sources compiled by the American Economic Association.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Data and reports on the US economy. Covers GDP, personal income, consumer spending, industry outputs, direct investment, and more.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Information on consumer spending, consumer price index, employment, productivity, time use, and more.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Dataverse
Provides access to open source and freely shared data sets.

Economic Data from Census
Data from the Economic Census and various business-related surveys, including Economic Census, Current Industrial Reports, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Service Annual Survey, Statistics of U.S. Businesses, E-Commerce, Small Business, Minority/Women Business Owners, and more.
Economic Report of the President
Current and historical editions of the Report.
eurostat
Data and reports on the EU and candidate countries. Topics include population, economy, finance, industry, trade, transportation, environment, energy, science, and more.
FEDSTATS
Search portal to the full range of official data from the Federal Government. Topics include economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, energy use, farm production and more.
FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) covers statistics and publications on the US economic history, particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Economic time series on business, employment, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, GDP, banking, and more. Historical data are available at Archival FRED (ALFRED).
Google Public Data Explorer
Charts and graphs that illustrate a changing world. Based on public data from government agencies (e.g., Census) and organizations (e.g., World Bank). Uses can also import eligible datasets to create customized visualizations.
ILOSTAT
International labor statistics by International Labour Office. Data include employment, unemployment, wages, etc.

IMF Data
Data from the International Monetary Fund. Includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and more. As of Jan 1, 2015, IMF data are freely available.

International Energy Agency (IEA)
International energy data and reports.
IPUMS
"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge."
Statistical Abstract of the United States (historical data)
Earlier versions of Statistical Abstract.
STATS America
Profiles and comparisons between states, counties, and county-metros. Also includes innovations in American regions and stress (measured by unemployment and income) comparison.
UNdata
Data sets from multiple international organizations; topics include energy, environment, finance, industry, labor, trade, and more.
US Energy Administration (EIA)
Energy statistics and reports.
World Bank Data
Free data sets and research reports from World Bank, including World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, World Development Report, Global Economic Monitor, and more.