GEOG 442/542 Sustainable Cities: Finding Articles
Choosing a Database
Many of the suggested databases cover multiple disciplines, so please feel free to explore and experiment. Please also keep in mind that each database covers different journals, which means each database covers different journal articles. Thus, to really see what is out there on your topic, you need to search in multiple databases and other resources as well.
Geography, Anthropology, Sociology, & Urban Planning Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental ScienceCovers articles, conference proceedings, books, and EPA reports on human geography, environmental science, agriculture, ecology, water resources, food production, and human nutrition.
- AnthroSourceProvides full text access to selected anthropology journals from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Urban Studies AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts for urban affairs, community development, and urban history.
History & Philosophy Databases
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great SocietyProvides an archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States.
- Historical AbstractsFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984.
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's EditionMaintains primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.
Get the Full Text
If you don't see the PDF, click 
. This will check for the article online through another database or the print version on the shelf.
If PSU doesn't have the article, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL). ILL takes 3-5 business and will come to you as a PDF.
Interdisciplinary Databases in Environmental, Queer, & Women's Studies
- Web of ScienceMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
- AgricolaProvides citations to journal articles, government reports, and books in agriculture and related disciplines.
- Agricultural & Environmental ScienceProvides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in agriculture, aquaculture, environmental, ecology, food and human nutrition, and water resources journals, conference proceedings, EPA reports, and books.
- Environment CompleteProvides full text journals, books, and reference works that cover agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts along with urban planning.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- GreenFILEOffers research covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government, and general interest titles covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- LGBT Life with Full TextIndexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's EditionMaintains primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases index journal articles from most disciplines. However, they may not go as deeply into a topic as a more discipline-specific database.
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
