Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives US newspapers from 1836 to 1922. Maintains a directory of US newspapers from 1690 to the present.
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Covers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2012
Maintains the Economist full text, the British weekly newspaper that focuses on business, international events, and opinion pieces.
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
Times of London Digital Archive
Archives the full text of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985.
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966
Features videos and full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Closed captions and/or interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Historical Newspaper Indexes
Sometimes full text newspaper search engines don't succeed in identifying or providing a desired article. In these cases, a newspaper index may be the reference tool needed to provide citations for older newspaper articles. Follow up to retrieve the article with the Library's online holdings for that newspaper or using its microfilm holdings.
Provides indexing of Barron's national business and financial weekly. Coverage 1975 - 2004 . PSU Library call number HG1 .W26
Index of the Christian Science Monitor
The title of the index has changed names over the years, but the Library's holdings cover 1960-1988. PSU Library call number AI21 .C5
New York Times Index (print index)
Coverage of the NYT from 1913 - 2008. PSU Library call number AI21 .N44. While the Library subscribes to the full text of the Times back to 1851, this print index can be a fascinating way to discover articles.
Times of London Index
The index has changed titles several times; coverage is 1876 - 2007. PSU Library call number AI 21 .T46
Wall Street Journal Index
Indexing coverage from 1957 - 2004. PSU Library call number HG1 .W26.
Oregon State Library - Oregon Index
A volunteer project organized by the Oregon State Library, provides indexing for selected regional papers. Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996; Corvallis Gazette Times, 1988 - 1999; Daily Astorian, 1998-1990; Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002; Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996; LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004; Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004; Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992; Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002; Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003; West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004; Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997; Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - 2004