Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with Historical Content on the U.S.
The databases listed here focus on American history.
Contains manuscripts, books, maps, photos, and other materials focusing on the American West.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collections
Contains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times through the 20th century. Content is in both Spanish and English.
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society
Provides an archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States.
Black Thought and Culture
Includes nonfiction works by major American black leaders and writers as well as the Black Panther newspaper.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Archives digitized early American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published from 1639 to 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Archives digitized early American pamphlets, broadsides, books, state papers and governmental materials published from 1801 to 1819.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society
Contains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Includes Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906, and other authoritative indexes that cover 19th century periodicals, books, newspapers, and patents as well as U.S. and British government documents.
Plowshares: Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Archives primary documents such as minutes, diaries, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals from the 1700s to the present. Chronicles the social justice efforts of the students and faculty of Earlham, Goshen, and Manchester colleges as well as the members of their affiliated historic peace-churches; the Quakers, Mennonites and the Church of the Brethren.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, Scholar's Edition
Maintains primary source documents and historical interpretations focusing on women in American social movements.
U.S. Government Information
The following databases include content from the US government. You can also find papers of US presidents through the library catalog.
U.S. and International Databases
The databases listed here aren't focused exclusively on the United States, but they do contain significant content about the US.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Presents periodicals, diaries, photographs, and other materials relating to British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people, and tourists in China.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Includes full text of important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with important works from the Americas.
Find primary source documents on colonial history, politics, and culture from 1492 to 2007, primarily about the British Empire, especially Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia.
Includes digitized books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights in the US, Europe, and around the world. Materials date from 1534 to 1945, with especially strong coverage of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Making of the Modern World
Archives books or monographs on economics and business published from 1450 through 1850. Includes materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Archives primary source documents for the study of slavery and abolition with materials from Africa, the Caribbean, the U.S., Latin America, and Europe from 1490 to 2007.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Provides information on slaving voyages from Europe and Africa to North America, the Caribbean, and Brazil.