UNST Work of Art: Books & Articles
What is a Scholarly Article?
Academic or scholarly journal articles:
- Written by experts in a particular field
- Written for other experts in that field
- Use expert language, or jargon, specific to that field
- Report on the results of research such as a scientific experiment
- Typically longer
- Very narrow and specific focus
- Give little to no background information
When searching for scholarly articles, match your search terms with the language experts use and be specific with your terms.
Suggested Databases for Work of Art
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles about architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
-
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
-
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing for design and applied arts literature, reviews, and news from 1973 to the present.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
-
ProjectMuse This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Agricola This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to journal articles, government reports, and books in agriculture and related disciplines.
-
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles and other publications covering topics in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition This link opens in a new windowPresents article citations and full text articles from health and medicine journals.
-
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media from 1704-current.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Finding eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online or use the "ebooks" limit to filter your search results.
Find Books & eBooks in the Library Catalog Video
Requesting Books & Articles
While the Portland State Library has a large collection of books, articles, and journals, we may not have a specific item you are looking for. In that case, you may be able to get it for you from another library.
- If you find an item in the catalog and our copy is not available you can Request from other libraries
