Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Image Collections
Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Flickr : The Commons
Public domain photography collections supplied to Flickr by museums around the world.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository with public domain and freely-licensed educational media.
A database of over 50,000 images including many areas of imagery (art, architecture, science, etc.). non-profit educational purposes, with attribution to the copyright holders who retain rights to the images. These works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 License.
Getty Institute Open Images Search
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
Image Collections for Non-profit/Educational Use
Presents images and information for advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 to 1955. Focuses on these subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty & hygiene, and World War II.
American Memory Project
Historical Collections for the Library of Congress Digital Library. American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from over 100 collections.
American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections
Access to over 7,000 digital images from the archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
Provides open access to artefacts, artworks, books, videos, and sound files from across Europe.