Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and Newspapers can be a really important source of information for both current and historical topics. News is reported information and can be invaluable to many different fields of research. The library subscribes to a large number of newspaper databases as well as other news sources.
How to Search for News Articles Video
Historical Newspaper Indexes
Sometimes full text newspaper search engines don't succeed in identifying or providing a desired article. In these cases, a newspaper index may be the reference tool needed to provide citations for older newspaper articles. Follow up to retrieve the article with the Library's online holdings for that newspaper or using its microfilm holdings.
Provides indexing of Barron's national business and financial weekly. Coverage 1975 - 2004 . PSU Library call number HG1 .W26
Index of the Christian Science Monitor
The title of the index has changed names over the years, but the Library's holdings cover 1960-1988. PSU Library call number AI21 .C5
New York Times Index (print index)
Coverage of the NYT from 1913 - 2008. PSU Library call number AI21 .N44. While the Library subscribes to the full text of the Times back to 1851, this print index can be a fascinating way to discover articles.
Times of London Index
The index has changed titles several times; coverage is 1876 - 2007. PSU Library call number AI 21 .T46
Wall Street Journal Index
Indexing coverage from 1957 - 2004. PSU Library call number HG1 .W26.
Oregon State Library - Oregon Index
A volunteer project organized by the Oregon State Library, provides indexing for selected regional papers. Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996; Corvallis Gazette Times, 1988 - 1999; Daily Astorian, 1998-1990; Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002; Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996; LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004; Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004; Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992; Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002; Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003; West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004; Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997; Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - 2004
National Newspapers Databases
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Gale Onefile News (InfoTrac Newsstand)
Provides access to leading international newspapers, major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as selected transcripts from popular television and radio news programs in the U.S.
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Provides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News
Comprised of full text articles from local business publications, newspapers, and newswires in the U.S.
Wall Street Journal
Offers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
Black Life in America
Provides the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to present.
Provides access to over 3,500 news sources throughout the United States of America