Global Environmental Change : Books & Articles
What is a Scholarly Article?
Academic or scholarly journal articles:
- Written by experts in a particular field
- Written for other experts in that field
- Use expert language, or jargon, specific to that field
- Report on the results of research such as a scientific experiment
- Typically longer
- Very narrow and specific focus
- Give little to no background information
When searching for scholarly articles, match your search terms with the language experts use and be specific with your terms.
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles
-
DataBank (World Bank data) This link opens in a new windowContains data for countries and country groups covering financial, business, health, economic and human development statistics.
-
Encyclopedia of Life This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Life (EoL) is a collaborative, open, peer-reviewed reference resource about the Earth and its natural environments.
-
Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the World This link opens in a new windowCovers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science This link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in agriculture, aquaculture, environmental, ecology, food and human nutrition, and water resources journals, conference proceedings, EPA reports, and books.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowOffers research covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government, and general interest titles covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of articles published in Elsevier journals covering agriculture, humanities, genetics, biology, business, accounting, chemistry, engineering, computer sciences, earth and planetary sciences, economics, materials science, medicine, neuroscience, physics, psychology, and other social sciences. Also includes access to selected 2006 imprints of Elsevier ebooks.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Finding eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online or use the "ebooks" limit to filter your search results.
