Challenge Guide for U.S. History - Housley/Nyland - St. Mary's: Background Information
Scholarly Subject Encyclopedias
Cambridge Histories OnlineLook for United States History in the title of individual volumes.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Publication Date: 2009-02-02
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Publication Date: 2004- Encyclopedia of the Great DepressionPublication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age by Publication Date: 2015
- Oxford Music OnlineIncludes full text of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition.
A Companion to 20th-Century America by Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryPublication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of U. S. Political History by Publication Date: 2010
History of the Mass Media in the United States: an Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2013
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements by Publication Date: 2013
Other Background Resources
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Refining your Topic
CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
