Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
At the Library
Use the Library's catalog to find documents and volumes held here at Portland State. PSU is a Depository Library which offers access to millions of print, microfilm, map and digital formats of federal government documents. Didn't find what you were looking for? We have lots of tangible items that may not be in the catalog, or only visible through VIKAT. Before you use Summit to get that document, check VIKAT first or ask a library staff member for faster access to print documents.
Find Articles: Starting Points for Research
Military & Government Collection
Comprised of full text magazine and newspaper articles on national/international policy and politics, public administration, political science, international relationships, national and global security, law enforcement, and the military branches. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
The U.S. Government Printing Office's (GPO) govinfo is an advanced digital system that provides access to government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. It replaces GPO's FDsys digital system.
Contains citations and full text to U.S. legislative information from 1970 to the present, with additional coverage of Congressional hearings from 1824 to 1979.
Congressional Serial Set
Archives reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.
Offers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
Citing Government Publications