Challenge Library Guide for Western Civilization - Vannelli - St. Mary's: Background Information
Scholarly Subject Encyclopedias
Cambridge Histories OnlineLook for European History in the title of individual volumes.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450 by Publication Date: 2006
Europe, 1450-1789 by Publication Date: 2003- Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Publication Date: 2003
Religion and European Philosophy by Publication Date: 2017
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Selected Online Subject Encyclopedias
- British Romantic Novelists, 1789-1832 by Publication Date: 1992
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics by Publication Date: 2004
Handbook of British Romanticism by Publication Date: 2017
