Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Government Websites
Other Useful Websites
Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and fact book about all levels of government in Oregon. Published since 1911, it is produced and updated by the Oregon State Archives.
Oregon Explorer: Natural Resources Digital Library
Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources.
Google Site Searching Video
Selected newspapers in the Portland area:
Portland Business Journal
Provides access to Portland Business Journal and Book of Lists. Also includes other city business journals.
Due to cost, PSU Library will no longer be able to provide complete online access to the Oregonian articles published from 1987 - present.
To access selected articles use the Oregonian link below. Also, the oregonlive.com web site provides free access to some recent Oregonian articles and supports fee-based article delivery of all Oregonian articles ($1.95 per article). The Multnomah County Public Library does still subscribe to the Oregonian.
Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-1987
Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 1987, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.
Oregonian Newspaper Index Search (1852-1987)
Oregonian citations to articles published between 1851-1987. If you're looking for something pre-1861, you can find the full-text in our microfilm collection on the 2nd floor (call number: AN .O74).
Oregon Newspaper Index
Indexes the Oregonian (Portland, 1852-1987) as well as the University of Oregon student newspaper, The Daily Emerald, and The Register-Guard (Eugene).