UNST Portland - Knepler: Scholarly Articles
Search the PSU Library Catalog for Articles
You can find a variety of articles using the PSU Library catalog. To start your search, enter your keywords in the search box. Then, from your results list, use the left side of the screen to filter by Source Type. Consider what types of articles you will need such as newspaper articles or peer reviewed journals.
Look for the Sign In link so that you can add relevant articles to your eShelf for easy access. Pertinent articles may include a Similar Articles tab where you will find six to eight articles like the one that you are interested in.
Using What You've Already Found to Find More Video
Even if you just find a few articles or books, it may be enough to get you going. Watch this two-minute video to see how you can stop searching and use what you've already found to find more.
Search Strategies
- An asterisk (*) is a truncation symbol, meaning you can use it to search for different endings of a word. For example, educat* will find educated, education, educational, etc.
- Only type a few words, not a whole sentence into the search box. What are the most important words in your research question?
- Combine synonyms with OR to get a more complete search. For example, college OR university OR higher education.
- Use quotation marks to link words together that form natural phrases. For example, "higher education" and "climate change"
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Business Source Premier
This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. - Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Get Full Text with Find It @ PSU
If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text (online or print), that leads to the full text will appear under View Online. If it is not available, there will be an option to request the article from Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.
