UNST 254G Popular Culture - Fisher: Find Secondary Sources (Annotated Bibliography)
Search the PSU Library Catalog for Scholarly Articles
Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog. Type your keywords into the search box on the Library homepage and run the search. Limit your search results by selecting Peer Reviewed Journals under Availability. Limit your search to the last five to ten years to review the most current research on your topic. Pertinent articles may include links to Similar Articles!
Be sure to Sign In in order to add relevant articles to My Favorites for easy access.
Scholarly Secondary Sources
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases. Provides citations to journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, government reports, and working papers as well as theses and dissertations.
- PsycINFOMaintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Find Books and Ebooks in the Library Catalog Video
eBooks
Use the search box on the Ebooks page to quickly find books the Library has available online.
Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video
This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.
Multidisciplinary Article Databases
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- Gale Academic OneFileCovers scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences as well as news articles.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges. - JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
