UNST 254G Popular Culture - Fisher: Background Information
Online Media Studies Encyclopedia
The international encyclopedia of media studies : media history and the foundations of media studies by ISBN: 1444361503Publication Date: 2013
Online Subject Encyclopedia Collections
Here are three big collections of online subject encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Oregon State Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. It is part of the Oregon Gale statewide databases.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Media Literacy Handouts
- Key Questions to Ask When Analyzing Media MessagesThis document provides very specific prompts to help you analyze media messages from many angles: audience and authorship; messages and meanings; representations and reality.
- 6 key Concepts in Media AnalysisThis document provides definitions for media literacy and media analysis.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
More Online Subject Encyclopedias
- American Masculinities - Bret E. Carroll (Editor)Publication Date: 2003
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryPublication Date: 2005
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present - Paul Finkelman (Editor)Publication Date: 2009
- Encyclopedia of African American Society - Gerald D. Jaynes (Editor)Publication Date: 2005
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia - Helen Tierney (Editor)Publication Date: 1999